Technology

Welcome to the Technology Department Webpage




~Every student will graduate with the skills and experiences necessary
to compete globally, think critically, and communicate effectively
~


GCSS will maximize technology to support all system level initiatives. Technology will be utilized by students and adults to create a safe learning environment; employ wraparound support to ensure every student is successful; support each student in progressing at a pace to meet his/her academic potential and to ensure all students graduate with the competencies and skills to achieve success. The school district believes technology is imperative to student and adult work and will provide the resources necessary to inspire, nurture, challenge and prepare each student to be successful. DoIT is a major service provider to all stakeholders within Gainesville City Schools and supports mission-critical processes and services.

 

DoIT responsibilities include:

  • Providing leadership in all aspects of technology for the school system.
  • Coordinating the development, refinement and execution of the district strategic plan, involving all stakeholders and governance committees.
  • Collaborating with the Superintendent and Cabinet to make informed decisions.
  • Collaborating with principals and school staff to make informed decisions.
  • Leading district initiatives, collaborating across departments and functional areas that support adoption and implementation of technology in all aspects of school business, including those that improve teaching and learning and promote digital age skills.
  • Creating and supporting cross-functional teams for needs assessment, decision-making, technology support, professional development and other aspects of the district technology program.
  • Building awareness among employees of available resources and the role of technology in the instructional process.
  • Developing and coordinating a broad range of technology-based resources, maximizing the availability and use of these resources. 
Documents & Links

Department Team Members

Jill Hobson
  Jill Hobson
Chief Technology Officer
jill.hobson@gcssk12.net
Eddie Nemec
   Eddie Nemec
Director of Instructional Technology and Media Services

eddie.nemec@gcssk12.net
Bruce Montgomery
  Bruce Montgomery
Systems Engineer

bruce.montgomery@gcssk12.net
Amanda Mullins   Amanda Mullins
Procurement and Administrative Specialist

amanda.mullins@gcssk12.net
Rodney Thomason
Rodney Thomason
IT Operations Manager
rodney.thomason@gcssk12.net
Alberto Barbat
  Alberto Barbat
Technician for Enota Elementary School/Gainesville Middle School
alberto.barbat@gcssk12.net
Josiah Bowers
   Josiah Bowers
Technician for Centennial Arts Academy/Gainesville High School

josiah.bowers@gcssk12.net
Hazzel Kingsbury
  Hazzel Kingsbury
Technician for Gainesville Middle School

hazzel.kingsbury@gcssk12.net
Gretchen Ruppenthal
  Gretchen Ruppenthal
Technician for New Holland Elementary/Fair Street Elementary

gretchen.ruppenthal@gcssk12.net
Jennifer Vega
  Jennifer Vega
Technician for Gainesville Exploration Academy/Mundy Mill Academy

jennifer.vega@gcssk12.net

  Ramon Williams
Technician for Gainesville High School

ramon.williams@gcssk12.net



experimental ink

Gainesville City Schools is a Google Schools District

IMS Global logo
Gainesville City School System is a member of IMS Global Learning Consortium and strongly prefers the use of IMS Global interoperability standards.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.